You are here

Distinguished Alumni Award

The Distinguished Alumni Award recognizes and honors alumni for their distinguished personal and career achievements and for their exemplary contributions to society that bring credit to Baptist College of Health Sciences. The award is presented annually at the Alumni Reunion, held the first weekend of June.

Whether you studied nursing, diagnostic medical sonography, medical radiography, nuclear medicine technology, radiation therapy, respiratory care, or health care management – at any of the Baptist Memorial Schools or the Baptist College of Health Sciences – if you are a Baptist alum, we encourage you to nominate an individual who you believe is truly worthy of this distinction. You will need to explain why you feel the person should be nominated and include information on his/her professional career, family, and community involvement. A detailed resume or biography must be included.


2014 Distinguished Alumni Award

Mrs. Helen Deneka

67 Years as a Nurse

Helen Deneka 2014 Distinguished Alumna

Left to right: Dr. Betty Sue McGarvey, president of Baptist College; Cissy Ray, co-worker and good friend of Mrs. Deneka;

Mrs. Helen Deneka, alumna class of 1947; and Stephen Reynolds, president emeritus for Baptist Memorial Health Care Corp.

 2013 Distinguished Alumni Award: Betty Dozier




 2012 Distinguished Alumni Award

Jane McDaniel

Class of 1955 


Previous recipients of the Distinguished Alumni Award include:

2011: Leilani Collins, Medical Laboratory Technology

2010: Tim Smith, Class of 1987

2009: Beverly Dorsey Jordan, Class of 1977

2008: Pamela Heffernan Redden, Class of 1971

2007: Carolyn Cook, Class of 1949

2006: Nancy Crawford Tucker, Class of 1975

2005: Jackie Bridges, Class of 1969, Nuclear Medicine; Class of 1976, Radiologic Technology

2004: Dr. Betty Sue McGarvey, Class of 1978, Nursing

2003: Anita Stephenson Vaughn, Class of 1973, Nursing

2002: Dr. Mickey Badgett, Class of 1953, Nursing

2001: Cindy Owen, Class of 1979, Radiologic Technology

2000: Dr. Carla Sanderson, Class of 1979, Nursing

1999: Denese Shumaker, Class of 1960, Nursing

Learn more about: